Kassner Music x Arctic Rights

Following on from the enormous chart success of Dua Lipa’s ‘New Rules’ co-created by their writer Caroline Ailin, independent Norwegian publisher Arctic Rights has strengthened its capability to create more such hits for Norwegian songwriters and artists by entering into a sub-publishing agreement for representation of its catalogue outside of the Nordics.

Within the U.K. and Ireland, Arctic Rights will be administered by the Kassner Music group, leveraging the vast experience of the company’s highly successful operation which continues to thrive over 70 years after it was established. Kassner Music focusses on delivering outstanding personal service to its clients, promoting and enhancing the value of music, with utmost commitment to the creative process, echoing the principles on which Arctic Rights was founded.

“We are delighted to be a part of the Arctic Rights project” says David Kassner, Managing Director of the Kassner Music group. “We have recognised for some time the depth of musical ability coming out of Norway and so it was extremely important to us to support Arctic Rights’ vision and contribute to the success of this emerging talent.”

Arctic Rights has also appointed Johan Husvik as Head of Sync. Previously at Phonofile, Johan will have an important creative role at the company. His skills will support an already experienced team, whose collective expertise and proven track record in developing songwriting talent will enable Arctic Rights to grow considerably and quickly as a business.

Arctic Rights will mark the consolidation of its organisation and team as it hosts the first Arctic Island songwriter camp from 5th-8th August, in partnership with BMG and BMI. This hugely exciting 4-day event, supported by Music Norway, NOPA, Musikkforleggerne and Øyafestivalen, will encourage composer development by enabling some of the foremost up-and-coming and established writers from around the globe to collaborate. Among the 25 participants are: Ina Wroldsen (NO), Magnus Bertelsen (NO), Erik Fjeld (NO), Electric (NO), James Newman (UK), What So Not (AU), Brandyn Burnette (US) and Sean Kennedy (US).

For more information, read the full article included within Music Business Worldwide here.

← Back to news